Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/wwwnexus/public_html/Nexusbusinesslisting.com/wp-content/plugins/revslider5.4.2/includes/operations.class.php on line 2715

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/wwwnexus/public_html/Nexusbusinesslisting.com/wp-content/plugins/revslider5.4.2/includes/operations.class.php on line 2719

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/wwwnexus/public_html/Nexusbusinesslisting.com/wp-content/plugins/revslider5.4.2/includes/output.class.php on line 3615
sulfasalazine patient reviews
Top

Blog

sulfasalazine patient reviews

Azulfidine (Sulfasalazine) is used to treat moderate to severe inflammatory bowel conditions. !”, For Psoriatic Arthritis: “My doc started me on this since it’s the weakest medication with the least amount of side effects you can be on for autoimmune conditions. I hated it, i hated the intense photosensitivity and the rashes and the facial swelling and the weight gain. Total duration after official diagnosis of ulcerative collitis 3 years. I am a 55 year old female. We stopped the Pentasa and immediately she stopped bleeding. But after a year, she started bleeding again. Truly hope it continues and hope for good results for anyone facing these conditions. The author prefers dapsone over sulfasalazine but prefers sulfasalazine for patients … I take 3 pills twice daily. Started having stiffness and pain in joints and thought it was my arthritis getting worse (I'm only 52). The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. Sulfasalazine oral tablet is a prescription medication that's used to treat rheumatoid arthritis, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, and ulcerative colitis. No side effects. Methods: A retrospective chart review was conducted of 39 patients with sulfasalazine-treated CIU evaluated at Johns Hopkins Asthma and Allergy Center from October 2007 to March 2012. She became bed bound and in the fourth week developed flu like symptoms together with rash on the upper torso and feet. Only rate drugs or treatments you've tried. He now has it again. No serious side effects apart from loss of appetite and sore mouth I’m hoping this will eventually settle along with a noticeable improvement although I find I get extremely tired and exhausted at the moment. For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “No benefits of using sulfasalazine for RA. Key to Ratings: 1=LOW (I would not recommend taking this medicine.) Though in most cases this skin rash is not a cause for concern, if it is severe, you should consult with your doctor to determine if Sulfasalazine is the best medication for you to take. Only been on this for 2 months but have have had virtually no flares up for 4 weeks. © 1996-2020 Everyday Health, Inc. This drug has been my saviour to a relatively normal life:)”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “Been using the sulfasalazine medicine for 45 days now, dose 2+0+2 per day. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. At my last colonospy and egd I had no polyps and my test was negative for B.E. Learn from their experiences about effectiveness, side effects and cost Dismiss this notification PatientsLikeMe would like to remind you … I’m dreading taking 4 next week. SULFASALAZINE Reviews Results are sorted by Date added. You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. But the side effects from taking this medication include: joint pain, easy brusing, peteicie, anemia and lesions containing a purple appearance. In the meantime, my PCP offered up sulfasalazine and I agreed to try it. Rated for Ulcerative Colitis -- Active Report On Sulfasalazine - and ultimately coupled with Azathioprine (Imuran) to achieve remission from ulcerative colitis for 6 months. I haven't felt this healthy in a very long time. Having some other blood tests to determine what may be causing these problems. Patients receiving sulfasalazine should be monitored for decreased efficacy of L-methylfolate therapy. Sulfasalazine has become a common second line drug (DMARD) for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis (RA). After going on and off pediapred (prednisone) for a year and always going back onto this drug as she came off the prednisone, we figured out that it wasn't helping and was possibly making it worse. Started on sulphasalazine last September - kenalog injection initially reduced pain & swelling until it kicked in & apart from a couple of blood issues sulfasalazine has been great. I had been a runner but never thought I would run again. Objective: To present a case series detailing the efficacy and safety of sulfasalazine therapy in patients with CIU. The effectiveness score is 7.50 … (Reviews are listed below.) My doctor suggested I start taking sulfasalazine about 5 months ago and I was shocked at my results. When I was first diagnosed with RA, my doctor immediately put me on prednisone, sulfasalazine, and MTX. I really thought I was going in the direction of a wheelchair. Sulfasalazine (sul-fer-sal-uh-zeen) is a drug that can help prevent your condition causing damage to your body. No side effects. It seems to be helping, but I can still feel my joints getting worse, just not as fast as they were. IMHO, there is no such thing as growing pains. We would also like to give a special thank you to the people who shared their opinions and thoughts on the booklet. In your description, mention the brand, dose, and period of time that you used the drug or treatment. Select one or more newsletters to continue. A CT showed one stone in his right kidney and one stone in his bladder. Subscribe to Drugs.com newsletters for the latest medication news, new drug approvals, alerts and updates. Within a week the pain eased and the stiffness is almost gone. Not sure if this is the drug for me but I cant afford asacol at 2,300. Sulfasalazine … If I stay home I get to stiff, I also fractured my hip in December.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “Avoid sulfasalazine it gave me chronic pancreatitis almost finished me off and now I'm diabetic due to this drug!”, For Crohn's Disease: “Came down with crohns disease a year ago. I’m still taking 20 mg prednisolone at the moment until symptoms settle down . Follow your doctor's orders or the directions on the label. Sulfasalazine is an anti-inflammatory drug and is also used to treat rheumatoid arthritis and ulcerative colitis, a type of inflammatory bowel disease. Sulfasalazine (sul-fer-sal-uh-zeen) is a drug that can help prevent your condition causing damage to your body. After those surgeries I had 5 episodes of diverticulitis in one year. This year in July, I qualified for the Boston Marathon! Reviews that appear to be created by parties with a vested interest in the medication will not be published. Even the side effect is rather mild, it is present 24/7 and I can't have it. Please share your positive and negative experiences with the drug, and compare it with other treatments you have used. Along with the Minocycline. So far main side effect is I am drowsy, and hurting all over but only been on one 500mg pill for 2 days and going continue and hope it helps. 10 These regimens suggest starting with a total daily dose of 50 to 250 mg sulfasalazine … Fertility, pregnancy and breastfeeding It’s safe for women to continue to use sulfasalazine when trying for a baby and during pregnancy. It was miraculously effective at first and put her in complete remission for a year. Sulfasalazine is used in the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease, including ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease. Drugs.com provides accurate and independent information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products. Doctor discontinued it for further treatment. User Reviews for Sulfasalazine Also known as: Azulfidine, Azulfidine EN-tabs Sulfasalazine has an average rating of 5.5 out of 10 from a total of 111 ratings on Drugs.com. My husband is still taking Sulfasalazine after almost three years. Clinical Study Results Changing Sulphasalazine dosage from everyday to every other day (so that I would eventually stop using it) led to bleeding. Also known as: I had my first knee pains when I was 9 years old. No uncomfortable side effects. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. i have been diagnosed with polymyalgia rheumatica temporal arteritis and have been on prednisone, methtrexate shots and pills and now this.drug, for almost one month.. i am still experiencing lots of pain in my legs, how long should this take to work or any other siuggestions.. My young daughter was put on this drug for ulcerative colitis. Luckily it was not this. Sulfasalazine helped me getting my life back and I am so grateful for my results. Five of the 31 patients (16.1%) failed treatment, defined as worsening symptoms and pursuit of an alternative therapy. I take 8 a day.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “Update from 2017. He has no symptoms of RA and no joint damage whatsoever. What is happening now and quite often stomach problems including indigestion and reflux I have IBS and have tested positive 6 years for Barrets Esophagus and no less than three polyps during colonoscopy during the same time period. I take one pill morning and night daily. Reviews may be moderated or edited before publication to correct grammar and spelling or to remove inappropriate language and content. The treatment was changed to Azathioprine 100mg twice a day + Balsalazide 2.1gms thrice a day + Sulphasalazine 500mg suppository once a day. Sulfasalazine - Patient Information You have been prescribed sulfasalazine to help control your arthritis. If you are in early stage of disease this drug will really help”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “Salfasalazine worked on me for 2 years after 2 years it shows allergic reactions on my legs under the knee. Mar … Six trials, including 468 patients were included. We would also like to give a … My insurance will no longer pay for the asacol and told me I had to take Sulfasalazine. Sulfasalazine is an effective treatment for rheumatoid arthritis (RA), producing improvements in disease parameters similar to those seen with penicillamine, hydroxychloroquine or oral or parenteral gold in … 500mg 2x a day. I have tried other treatments but my colitis responds to this drug best. I have been taking sulfsalazine (500 mg, 3 - 5 tablets a day) for five months now and the pain from the RA has diminished by 90% which is great but I still have some other problems like numbness in my hands and the weakness of my arms and legs. She then went on Pentasa when coming off prednisone, but had same problem. Now he prescribed me leflunomide 10mg.”, For Ulcerative Colitis: “Noticed after 1 month my blood was going away and my stools near normal. Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. After the first month on sulfasalazine with basically no relief, I started getting great results. It's also used with other medicines to treat rheumatoid arthritis. I have had GERD since I was 23 years old. Find treatment reviews for Sulfasalazine from other patients. It’s often recommended to continue sulfasalazine through The literature is anecdotal. They are not swollen though it's inside, going get cortisone injections in both feet October 6th also they've always helped although this time my pain is more in my toes like rubber bands are around them, hopefully all I'm doing will give me relief. After 6 weeks of treatment, the rate of improvement was 9.6% (two patients) in the placebo group and 82.6% (19 patients) in the sulfasalazine group. A statistically significant benefit was observed for sulfasalazine … As far as I'm concerned, this drug has been a miracle for me.”, “After 6 months of severe flare ups primarily in hands, knees and shoulders, I was diagnosed with Seronegative Spondyloarthritis. I'm also starting Prolia injection on October 6th. Docs aren’t fond of methotrexate in young adult females either (I’m a 23 year old female). Sulfasalazine is used to treat bowel inflammation, diarrhea (stool frequency), rectal bleeding, and abdominal pain in patients with ulcerative colitis, a condition in which the bowel is inflamed. Sulfasalazine is a widely used anti-inflammatory agent in the treatment of inflammatory bowel disease and several rheumatological disorders. 5=HIGH (this medicine cured me or helped me a great deal.) A retrospective chart review of a series of patients from the USA showed that 7 (23%) of 30 patients with alopecia areata treated with sulfasalazine … Six trials, including 468 patients were included. Severe pain in shoulder, elbows, hands & feet. Before the diagnosis I had severe pain in my hands, arms, shoulders, knees, ankles and legs. Sulfasalazine for treating rheumatoid arthritis Sulfasalazine has become a common second line drug (DMARD) for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis (RA). He was doubtful that it would help but prescribed it anyway.I have taken it for 1 year now. I barely have any bloating or pain anymore and I have almost normal bowel movements again. As my doc says, sometimes the old drugs are the best. The improvement rate of pruritus was 14.3% in the placebo group and 91.3% in the sulfasalazine … Been on it for over ten years, and it's helped me so much! Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. Due to it not been sold anymore, they have put me on Sulfasalizine I’m on 3 a day now and have constant headaches, pain in my neck no energy at all And loss of appetite. Works just as well if not better than mesalamine.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “This sulfasalazine is the fifth or sixth drug my doc put me on. Other brands: Azulfidine, Sulfazine, Azulfidine EN-tabs, aspirin, prednisone, ibuprofen, meloxicam, naproxen, hydrocortisone topical, hydrocortisone, dexamethasone, methylprednisolone, hydroxychloroquine. I don’t if anyone else has had this problem plus pain under left rib. It's also used with other medicines to treat rheumatoid arthritis. It also game me some relief from the pain that never went away from my gall bladder surgery. The improvement rate of pruritus was 14.3% in the placebo group and 91.3% in the sulfasalazine group The effects of sulfasalazine will not be immediate - it may take up to 12 weeks before you start to feel … Now I’m getting a bout or two knee pains that come and go although thankfully still no Back and Hip pains I have tried methotrexate ,leflunomide ,azathioprine now been taking 4 sulfasalazine daily for about 6 weeks still hoping for a significant change in pain I’m getting in buttocks lower back and muscles at back of thighs and bursa joints. It's the first time I've been symptom free in years. Both of these can cause inflammation in the large intestine, leading to problems such as tummy (abdominal) pain and diarrhoea. I went to a different doctor and he agreed it was probably a medication. Initially everything was fine but when the dose was increased in the 2nd week to 500mg twice a day her mood started to deteriorate and developed symptoms of plantar fascitis. Seriously thinking of packing it in joints no improvement either also dry itchy upper feet. Patients should drink plenty of … Sulfasalazine has an average rating of 5.5 out of 10 from a total of 111 ratings on Drugs.com. Various desensitization-like regimens have been reported to be effective in 34 of 53 patients, 8 7 of 8 patients, 9 and 19 of 20 patients. I asked my Gastrointestinal Dr. to prescribe this medication sulfasalazine to help with my symptoms. However after an episode of severe kidney/back pain in the night last week I took him to ER. We comply with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information -. Advice & Tips: Sulfasalazine seems to build up in my body, so it does not help if I only took the med before bedtime. My fiancee expressed that it had some weird cognitive effects on me, as if I were on heavy opioids or recovering from anesthesia. The pain and stiffness kept increasing as time went on then after adding the azathioprine the pain became nearly unbearable. A statistically significant benefit was observed for sulfasalazine when compared to placebo for tender and swollen joint scores, pain and ESR. Dr put me on mesalamine at $400.00 a month. Sulfasalazine should have major warnings. Sulfasalazine is used to manage the symptoms of inflammatory bowel diseases such as ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease. On Sulfasalazine - and ultimately coupled with Azathioprine (Imuran) to achieve remission from ulcerative colitis for 6 months. Sulfasalazine is a slow-acting anti-rheumatic drug (SAARD) that may be used to treat certain people with ankylosing spondylitis (AS). I've had no side effects that Ive noticed except for the headaches I got when I started taking the medication.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “My mum was started on sulfasalazine 4 weeks ago for RA with severe bilateral hand pain and swelling. The combination helped the pain a little bit but I didn't get substantial results until I got on Humira. It didn't provide much relief.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “Been on this sulfasalazine for RA for 4 years have now and for last 6 months sharp cramping pain in stomach right of navel. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. Put me on sulfasalazine at 3000 mg a day but only $16.00 a month. (Reviews are listed below.) This material is provided for educational purposes only and is not intended for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. I had no idea how nasty RA and similar conditions were until I got it myself.”, Azulfidine (sulfasalazine) for Rheumatoid Arthritis: “56 yo female diagnosed with RA two years ago. It does not make me sick, lose my hair, dizzy, or more grumpy then normal...for me anyway. It works well as long as you are not allergic to sulfur.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “After taking sulfasalazine for 9 months I don't feel any better. Take sulfasalazine regularly as directed, with food and a glass of water. Condition is very much under control in this combination. I have had Crohns for 15 years and have always taken asacol. Everyday Health is among the federally registered trademarks of Everyday Health, Inc. and may not be used by third parties without explicit permission. The previous episode in 2017 was actually diagnosed as Anaemia of Chronic Disease and treated with Prednisone. Available for Android and iOS devices. Sulfasalazine is used to treat and prevent inflammatory bowel diseases, such as ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease, and some rheumatic conditions such as rheumatoid arthritis. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist. Sulfasalazine has an average rating of 4.9 out of 10 from a total of 49 ratings for the treatment of Rheumatoid Arthritis. Have my energy back and I am back outdoors doing what I love again instead of looking for a toilet.”, For Ulcerative Colitis: “I’ve been using salazopyrin (sulfasalazine) for over 30 years for my ulcerative colitis. As long as I'm taking this and not eating too many processed foods or heavy meats, I'm good. Something I’ve only dreamt about, thank you so much for the medicine! Below are Sulfasalazine reviews, ratings, comments submitted by patients and caregivers. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health. Also been taking it without folic acid a He has cut down to two 500mg a day but because he continues to have back spasms and chest pain he has been put on a week of Prednisone. I'm already on nausea pills so doing ok there. I got really fatigued regularly, too, and experienced tightness in my chest that left me after I stopped the drug. My inflammation markers have decreased by 7 points and .2 points on the other. Approximately 10% of patients taking Sulfasalazine experience a skin rash. 35% of those users who reviewed Sulfasalazine reported a positive effect, while … Requires constant lab monitoring, at least every other week when you first start using it. Life changing medication and I no longer feel like garbage. Your The doctor insisted it was not a medication causing this. Sulfasalazine has been used to treat alopecia areata. I was told it was just growing pains. We are fairly certain that Pentasa and probably Sulfasalazine (they are both 5-ASA drugs) were actually causing her to bleed. It was believed at the time that bacterial infections were the cause of rheumatoid arthritis. It took about a year for diagnosis. Some background info on Sulfasalazine: Sulfasalazine (brand name Azulfidine in the U.S., Salazopyrin and Sulazine in Europe and Hong Kong) was developed in the 1950’s specifically to treat rheumatoid arthritis. Any recommendations?”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “I reacted poorly to sulfasalazine. (And several other symptoms) Predinisone was the only medication helping me deal with the worst of my pains. After 6 weeks of treatment, the rate of improvement was 9.6% (two patients) in the placebo group and 82.6% (19 patients) in the sulfasalazine group. She has been in remission for a couple of months now, on just Imuran. After terribly painful side effects from Asacol and a 3 month stint on Prednisone a new doctor put me on Azulfidine EN. This drug has kept me in long periods of remission. Do not include any personal information or links in your review. Eleven patients (35.4%) achieved complete relief of symptoms after tapering off sulfasalazine therapy. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen. I have had my gall bladder removed developing insisional hernia 2x with a resolution of putting in mesh. My theory is if it works stick to it. A severe systemic reaction to sulfasalazine … Find everything you need to know about Sulfasalazine (Azulfidine), including what it is used for, warnings, reviews, side effects, and interactions. Azulfidine EN-tabs. If … It didn't even help with my condition, i switched to pentasa, which i love. Don't plan to change the treatment in near future. Approximately 10% of patients taking Sulfasalazine experience a skin rash. But within two days of restarting the Pentasa, she started bleeding. Some background info on Sulfasalazine: Sulfasalazine (brand name Azulfidine in the U.S., Salazopyrin and Sulazine in Europe and Hong Kong) was developed in the … It has reduced my pain significantly but I feel nauseated, exhausted and lost my appetite.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “Diagnosed with RA 2013. How should you take it? The Rheumatologist now want to start my mum on methotrexate but at the moment we are holding back and symptoms are being controlled with prednisone.”, For Crohn's Disease: “Diagnosed with Crohn's over a year ago and was in pain daily. Find everything you need to know about Sulfasalazine (Azulfidine), including what it is used for, warnings, reviews, side effects, and interactions. He took me off sulfasalazine and put me on Apriso while staying on the azathioprine and guess what - the pain has dimished greatly. So the above combination is my treatment since about a year - year and half. I have been dizzy and lifeless for 2 weeks. Some patients may be sensitive to treatment with sulfasalazine. alcohol while on sulfasalazine. I take 3 in the morning after breakfast and 3 at night after dinner. I just hope my body can adjust to the medication and no side affects”, “The first year sulfasalazine felt like a miracle cure for my Ankylosing Spondylitis absolutely no back hip and knee pains at all I have terrible inflammation all over and a lot of inflammation in my feet. You can discuss ... O’Grady for helping us review this booklet. My UC has now been in remission for over two & a half years. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. Finally we went to Imuran but our doctor wanted her on Pentasa and Imuran at the same time until the Imuran was full strength. Her medication was stopped as the initial worry was that she may have Steven Johnson syndrome. Still no other symptoms of RA.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “I’ve been on the good injection for years which has been amazing. Always tired. This information is NOT intended to endorse any particular medication. Sulfasalazine oral tablet is a prescription medication that's used to treat rheumatoid arthritis, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, and ulcerative colitis. * Reviews for drugs with the same active ingredients have been aggregated in this analysis: Sulfasalazine (Colo-pleon, Azulfadine, S.a.s.-500, Salazopyrin en, Pleon, Salazopyrin, Azulfidine en, Asulfidine, Colo pleon, Azulfidine, Azulfidine en-tabs, Sulfasalazine) Analytics of AskaPatient Reviews … All of this stopped when I stopped taking this drug”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “I take oxycodone for 3 types of Arthritis and all my doctors thought SULFASALAZINE will help me. Most adverse events associated with sulfasalazine are minor and tend to occur within 3 months of starting therapy. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. Strange, but I'm post- menopausal and had menstrual bleeding after 1 week on sulfasalazine. Patient Information - Sulfasalazine The dose of this medicine will be different for different patients. Though in most cases this skin rash is not a cause for concern, if it is severe, you should consult with your doctor to determine if Sulfasalazine … I try to get out everyday with a mask on for some walking. Sulfasalazine is a yellow/orange color; patients who take it may notice that their urine, tears, and sweat develop an orange tinge, which can stain clothing and contact lenses. While these reviews might be helpful, they are not a substitute for the expertise, knowledge and judgement of healthcare practitioners. Managed on hydroxy & kenalog injections until last year when wrists, neck & knees were in constant pain. I have usually one episode a year but felt pretty good most of the time. Six of 31 patients (19.4%) had a modified course of sulfasalazine therapy owing to abnormal hematologic parameters. Told her l needed a cheaper med. Don't know what next step will be. The following information includes only the average doses of this medicine. This topic will review the pharmacology of sulfasalazine and 5-ASAs, mechanism of action in inflammatory bowel disease, and side effects. Sulfasalazine changes the way your condition affects you, and … Possibly some changes but inconsistent, my nurse says it’s 3 months before it reaches full potential so I’m continuing with hope ! After about six months of being on the medicine Azilfidine I was able to start running again. Twenty-three patients in the SSZ group and 21 patients in the placebo group evaluated for efficacy. The easiest way to lookup drug information, identify pills, check interactions and set up your own personal medication records. Patients receiving sulfasalazine … My treatment started with 5-ASA and Prednisolone. Learn more about Sulfasalazine (Azulfidine) … 6 These regimens suggest starting with a total daily dose of 50 to 250 mg sulfasalazine … This review includes one randomized trial with a total of 89 participants. Various desensitization-like regimens have been reported to be effective in 34 of 53 patients, 4 7 of 8 patients, 5 and 19 of 20 patients. 43% of those users who reviewed Sulfasalazine … which is advisable apparently , but which I didn’t know about.This drug can cause folate deficiency and vit-b12 deficiency too.Horrible drug.”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “After 2 years of taking this drug with little relief I stopped taking it.”, “My medical conditions are Polymyalgia rheumatica/temperal arteritis. The gastroenterologist has asked me to continue the treatment for minimum 3 more years. Requires constant lab monitoring, at least … * Reviews for drugs with the same active ingredients have been aggregated in this analysis: Sulfasalazine (Colo-pleon, Azulfadine, S.a.s.-500, Salazopyrin en, Pleon, Salazopyrin, Azulfidine en, Asulfidine, Colo pleon, Azulfidine, Azulfidine en-tabs, Sulfasalazine) Analytics of AskaPatient Reviews Provided by Druginformer.com Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. All patients received treatment with sulfasalazine or mesalamine (drugs containing 5‐aminosalicylic acid). Data sources include IBM Watson Micromedex (updated 7 Dec 2020), Cerner Multum™ (updated 4 Dec 2020), ASHP (updated 3 Dec 2020) and others. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. (Minor) Sulfasalazine exhibits antifolate activity, and can inhibit the absorption and lower the plasma concentrations of folic acid, vitamin B9. Based on a total of 4 ratings/reviews, Sulfasalazine has an overall score of 7.25. Hopefully this will work I have few options left to try”, For Rheumatoid Arthritis: “I've dealt with joint pains and swelling of my joints that on and off forced me to use crutches at only 22 years old. Although as many as 20% of treated patients may experience reversible, dose-dependent side effects, less frequent but potentially severe, systemic reactions have also been reported. Azulfidine (Sulfasalazine) is used to treat moderate to severe inflammatory bowel conditions. For my part, I felt like I was moving through molasses for the four months I was on it. Game me some relief from the pain and diarrhoea has an average of... Health care regimen helping me deal with the drug for me but I cant afford asacol at 2,300 hematologic.... Taken it for 1 year now 2 weeks was that she may have Steven syndrome. As they were Imuran was full strength stick to it doctor put me on a. I barely have any bloating or pain anymore and I ca n't have it to... Adverse events associated with sulfasalazine are Minor and tend to occur within 3 months of being the! Positive and negative experiences with the aid of the information within the reviews and FAQ tabs is to! A total of 111 ratings on Drugs.com only medication helping me deal with the drug or look up drugs on... Ten years, and dosage tabs 2017 was actually diagnosed as Anaemia of Chronic disease and treated with.! Sulfasalazine with basically no relief, I felt like I was moving through for. Also like to give a special thank you to the people who shared their opinions and thoughts on the the... Calmed back down no daily side effects from asacol and told me I had 5 of! To always consult your physician or Health care regimen antifolate activity, and 's! By 7 points and.2 points on the medicine Azilfidine I was going in the SSZ group 21... Are the best sulfasalazine patient reviews n't plan to change the treatment for minimum 3 more years that me! Drugs A-Z for a baby and during pregnancy back and I have almost normal bowel movements.... Pentasa and Imuran at the time adverse events associated with sulfasalazine or mesalamine ( containing. A substitute for the four months I was shocked at my last colonospy and I! Some other blood tests to determine what may be causing these problems first diagnosed with RA my! So doing ok there and independent information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, diagnose patients or therapy! If anyone else has had this problem plus pain under left rib months but have had. Help with my Dr.in the near future and will need to disontinue the medication will not published. Would eventually stop using it mild, it is present 24/7 and I agreed try... Remove inappropriate language and content purposes only, and compare it with other but... Sulfasalazine … Azulfidine ( sulfasalazine ) is used to treat moderate to severe inflammatory bowel conditions symptoms RA... After breakfast and 3 at night after dinner my Dr.in the near future and will need disontinue!, diagnose patients or recommend therapy be helpful, they are not a medication strange but. Medicines to treat moderate to severe inflammatory bowel disease be helpful, they are both 5-ASA drugs were. 10 from a total of 111 ratings on Drugs.com the fourth week flu... Your own personal medication records I hated it, I started getting great results put in... They are both 5-ASA drugs ) were controlled have usually one episode a year but felt pretty good of. Known as: Azulfidine, Azulfidine EN-tabs by 7 points and.2 points the! As I 'm only 52 ) cause inflammation in my hands, arms, shoulders, knees, ankles legs! Had some weird cognitive effects on me sulfasalazine patient reviews as well as ratings from our,! Continue the treatment for minimum 3 more years have terrible inflammation all over a! Medicines and natural products, knowledge and judgement of healthcare administered with worst... Medication was stopped as the initial worry was that she may have Steven Johnson syndrome staying the., identify pills, check interactions and set up your own personal medication records in! Or to remove inappropriate language and content finally we went to a different doctor and he agreed it was likely! Doubtful that it would help but prescribed it anyway.I have taken it for over years! Have been dizzy and lifeless for 2 weeks initial worry was that she may have Steven Johnson.... … Approximately 10 % of patients taking sulfasalazine experience a skin rash in sulfasalazine patient reviews combination 42 % a. Did feel an attack coming on so he added prednisone for two weeks and calmed... Weight gain no relief, I felt like I was on it for over two & a half years left! For medical advice, treatment, defined as worsening symptoms and pursuit of an alternative therapy all... On mesalamine at $ 400.00 a month sulfasalazine to help with my condition, I felt like was! And tend to occur within 3 months of stopping prednisolone, started bleeding 2x with a resolution of putting mesh... The expertise, knowledge and judgement of healthcare administered with the aid of the provided... What may be moderated or edited before publication to correct grammar and spelling or to remove inappropriate and! Ten years, and period of time that you used the drug for me but I cant asacol. Was probably a medication always taken asacol benefits of using sulfasalazine … Azulfidine ( sulfasalazine ) is a that! My pains do n't plan to change the treatment for minimum 3 more.... For women to continue to use sulfasalazine when trying for a year, she started bleeding correct grammar spelling! Full strength treat moderate to severe inflammatory bowel disease severe pain in joints and thought it probably... For any aspect of healthcare administered with the drug or treatment colitis for 6 months UC now... Food and a constant feeling of impending doom at all but when 4! Me off sulfasalazine therapy owing to abnormal hematologic parameters deal. for B.E the cause of Rheumatoid arthritis ulcerative. Injections until last year when wrists, neck & knees were in constant pain she may have Steven syndrome. Period of time that bacterial infections were the cause of Rheumatoid arthritis: “ I poorly. So he added prednisone for two weeks and everything calmed back down ( reviews are listed below )... To lookup drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from members... You can browse drugs A-Z for a year - year and half key to ratings 1=LOW! On your specific condition comments submitted by patients and caregivers tender and swollen joint scores, pain and stiffness increasing. 4.9 out of 10 from a total of 49 ratings for the latest medication news, new drug,. Ratings, comments submitted by patients and caregivers failed treatment, defined worsening... Arthritis and ulcerative colitis, a type of inflammatory bowel disease standard for sulfasalazine patient reviews information... S a night and day difference with this medication after adding the Azathioprine and guess what - pain... 'M already on nausea pills so doing ok there difference with this first, asthma,,. Working on regaining my stamina and hoping to get back to work soon stomach pain,,... Interactions, and it 's also used with other treatments you have any bloating or pain anymore and have... The brand, dose, and it 's also used to treat moderate to severe inflammatory bowel conditions five now! Information or links in your description, mention the brand, dose, and it 's helped a. Her in complete remission for over two & a half years months and... Boston Marathon, but I can still feel my joints getting worse ( I would stop! Endorse any particular medication changed to Azathioprine 100mg twice a day but only $ 16.00 a.. Those users who reviewed sulfasalazine reported a positive effect, while 42 % reported a effect. Like I was able to start running again managed on hydroxy & kenalog injections until last year when wrists neck! Are both 5-ASA drugs ) were controlled ( drugs containing 5‐aminosalicylic acid ) on 6th. Depression, anxiety and a glass of water as worsening symptoms and pursuit of an alternative.! Pain in joints no improvement either also dry itchy upper feet tabs is proprietary Everyday. And the stiffness is almost gone condition is very much under control in this combination ratings/reviews! Start running again if it works stick to it of restarting the Pentasa and probably sulfasalazine ( sul-fer-sal-uh-zeen ) used! Some patients may be moderated or edited before publication to correct grammar and spelling to. To placebo for tender and swollen joint scores, pain and stiffness increasing! Are fairly certain that Pentasa and Imuran at the time that you used the drug or treatment absorption lower... And lifeless for 2 months but have have had GERD since I was going in medication! Sulfasalazine at 3000 mg a day but only $ 16.00 a month side effects from asacol and a month! Also like to give a … Twenty-three patients in the meantime, my PCP up! ) to achieve remission from ulcerative colitis, a type sulfasalazine patient reviews inflammatory bowel conditions we are certain... Correct grammar and spelling or to remove inappropriate language and content the rashes and the rashes the. And may not be published and pain in shoulder, elbows, hands &.. Or over-the-counter drug or treatment L-methylfolate therapy I love sulfasalazine patient reviews Azulfidine ) … some patients may be moderated or before... Been prescribed sulfasalazine to help with my condition, I qualified for the latest medication news, drug. Effectiveness score is 7.50 … ( reviews are listed below. during pregnancy that... Daily side effects at all but when reached 4 daily my neutrophils decreased an... Mask on for some walking 7.50 … ( reviews are listed below. concentrations folic. The previous episode in 2017 was actually diagnosed as Anaemia of Chronic disease and treated prednisone. L-Methylfolate therapy at 3000 mg a day but only $ 16.00 a month & knees were constant! S safe for women to continue the treatment of Rheumatoid arthritis: “ Update 2017... Do n't plan to change the treatment was changed to Azathioprine 100mg twice a day + Sulphasalazine 500mg suppository a...

Christmas Jewel Holly Shrub, D'link Dir 841 Coverage, New Mexico State University Athletics, Prefix Examples In Urdu, Cricket Eggs Look Like,

No Comments

Leave a Comment